Qualifications Framework (DMIQF)

Process, Outputs and Compatibility for a Qualifications Framework within the Digital Profession. 

The Digital Marketing Institute Qualifications Framework defines the digital certification and progressions routes, and maps to the European Qualifications Framework. Certification exams are available in 120 countries.


Digital Marketing Institute’s Qualifications Framework describe the qualifications of our education system and how they relate to each other and how they connect with other qualification frameworks (EQF, EHEA).

A qualifications framework describe what students should know, understand and be able to do on the basis of a given qualification. A framework also demonstrates how learners can progress through higher levels of qualification within a framework. Universities, colleges and training companies in over 80 countries now implement qualifications from the DMIQF.

Qualifications Frameworks operate at a national (UK for example) and regional level (EU, ASIA for example) and are overarching systems that connect countries’ qualifications systems together. Our Framework operates both Nationally and Regionally and importantly also provides a basis for qualifications within the Digital Sales & Marketing Industry. It allows students, colleges and employers to easily transfer qualifications between countries and assist in helping people have their qualifications recognised if they move country or employer or college.

DMIQF was established in 2012. It is a framework through which qualifications in digital can be defined, assessed, and related to each other in a way that articulates a clear progression. Digital Qualifications are organised within the DMIQF based on the level of knowledge, skills and competencies.

The DMIQF provides a framework around which the key stakeholders in the education equation can gather, Students, Colleges and Employers. It allows all three to understand the content of qualifications, the skills and competencies and modes of assessment and furthermore it relates these qualifications to the roles and jobs that these qualifications relate to. The qualification is the currency that flows between these three key stakeholder groups.

Objectives of the DMIQF

The objectives of the DMIQF are to provide a contemporary and flexible framework that:

  • acts as a reference point for curriculum development leading to DMIQF-recognized qualifications.
  • provides a basis for a competency framework for the Digital Sales & Marketing Industry
  • supports industry education pathways which provide access to qualifications and allow individuals to move easily between different education and training sectors and industry roles
  • supports and enhances the mobility of graduates and employees through increased recognition of the value and comparability of Digital Sales & Marketing qualifications
  • enables the alignment of the DMIQF with international qualifications frameworks


DMIQF Syllabus Advisory Council

The Syllabus Advisory Council, representing the world’s largest and most influential digital brands, validates all Digital Marketing Institute course content. By providing expert review and recommendations on a regular basis, the Council ensures that graduates of the Digital Marketing Institute have learned the most up to date digital skills, core competencies and knowledge needed to thrive in their digital careers.

The Syllabus Advisory Council’s role is to provide:

  • Industry validation of the qualifications through the syllabus review process
  • Industry policy advice on qualifications
  • maintain, monitor and promote the DMIQF
  • support the stakeholders and users of the DMIQF, students, educator, employers

The DMIQF Syllabus Advisory Council includes an independent chair (Dudley Dolan) and members from the Digital industry, Digital Agencies, education and training sectors.


All of our Qualifications are mapped into the EQF and are also defined in terms of their position within the EHEA.

The European Qualifications Framework (EQF) is a “translation tool that helps communication and comparison between qualifications systems in Europe. Its eight common European reference levels are described in terms of learning outcomes: knowledge, skills and competences. This allows any national qualifications systems, national qualifications frameworks (NQFs) and qualifications in Europe to relate to the EQF levels. Learners, graduates, providers and employers can use these levels to understand and compare qualifications awarded in different countries and by different education and training systems.” http://ec.europa.eu/

The European Higher Education Area (EHEA) was launched in March 2010, and is designed to ensure more comparable, compatible and coherent systems of higher education in Europe. It is designed to foster student mobility and employability through the introduction of a system based on undergraduate and postgraduate studies with easily readable programmes and degrees. http://www.ehea.info/